Submissions now accepted for URA Thesis Award

Fermilab and the Universities Research Association invite submissions for the fourteenth annual URA Thesis award competition. The award recognizes the most outstanding thesis based on work conducted at Fermilab in collaboration with university or Fermilab scientists.

Nominations must be submitted to Steve Brice by March 1, 2011 and should include two letters supporting the merits of the thesis being nominated. At least one letter should be from a member of the thesis committee of the Ph.D.-granting institution. For work carried out in collaboration with Fermilab scientists, at least one of the letters should come from one of those scientists.

The URA Thesis Award Committee will select the winners. The committee members will judge each thesis on clarity of presentation, originality and physics content. To qualify, the thesis must have been submitted in fulfillment of the Ph.D. requirements in the 2010 calendar year, be written in English, and it must have been submitted in electronic form to the Fermilab Publications Office in accordance with Fermilab policy.

For further details consult the URA Thesis Award website.