Fermilab-affiliated researchers receive prestigious DOE award

One Fermilab researcher and two researchers working on Fermilab experiments were selected to receive the DOE Early Career Research Award, a prestigious financial award given to the most promising researchers in the early stages of their careers.

This year, 65 researchers were selected from a pool of about 1,150 university- and national laboratory-based applicants. Among the recipients were:

  • Aaron Chou, Fermilab astrophysicist
  • Aran Garcia-Bellido, assistant professor at the University of Rochester
  • Ryan Patterson, assistant professor at the California Institute of Technology

According to the DOE press release, the five-year awards are “designed to bolster the nation’s scientific workforce by providing support to exceptional researchers during the crucial early years, when many scientists do their most formative work.”

The funding received through the awards will be used by recipients to carry out the research detailed in their respective proposals (see abstract proposals for all recipients online.)

Aaron Chou

Aaron Chou, Fermilab astrophysicist, has received the DOE Early Career Research Award, which will support his search for holographic noise at the Planck scale.

Read the full story.

Check Fermilab Today later this week for articles on the two other award winners.

Christine Herman