URA submissions for annual Thesis Award due March 1

Fermilab and the Universities Research Association invite submissions for the 15th annual URA Thesis Award competition. The award recognizes the most outstanding thesis related to work conducted at Fermilab or in collaboration with Fermilab scientists. The thesis submitted must be completed in the 2011 calendar year to qualify.

Nominations must be submitted to Bob Zwaska by March 1, and should include at least two letters supporting the merits of the thesis. At least one letter should be from a member of the thesis committee of the Ph.D.-granting institution.

The URA thesis awards committee will select the winners. The committee members will judge each thesis on clarity of presentation, originality and physics content. To qualify, the thesis must have been submitted as partial fulfillment of the Ph.D. requirements in the 2011 calendar year, be written in English and it must have been submitted in electronic form to the Fermilab Publications Office in accordance with Fermilab policy.

For further details, consult the URA Thesis Award website.