Fermilab scientists emeritus

From bottom left, counterclockwise: Chuck Schmidt, Moyses Kuchnir, Joe Lach, Alan Wehmann, Lee Teng, Chuck Brown, Norman Gelfand, Bruce Chrisman, John Yoh, Hans Jostlein, Bill Bardeen. Also in attendance to honor the scientists emeriti were Young-Kee Kim, Alvin Tollestrup, Roy Rubinstein, Greg Bock Photo: Reidar Hahn
The 2011 Fermilab scientist emeriti gathered for lunch and a picture on March 16. The status of scientist emeritus is granted in the recognition of the scientist’s contributions to the laboratory over his or her career. They are all invited to continue scientific connections with the laboratory, and they each belong to a division or center and may receive Fermilab resources as appropriate.
To initiate the appointment process, scientists must discuss emeritus status with their division or section head, who may then recommend the status to the Directorate. The Directorate may then recommend the appointment to the FRA Board of Directors, summarizing the candidate’s career accomplishments and major contributions to the laboratory.
To see the full list of Fermilab scientists honored as scientists emeritus, please click here.