Reorganization of our research departments

Erik Gottschalk

Erik Gottschalk, deputy head of the Particle Physics Division, wrote this column.

Effective Oct. 1, the Particle Physics Division will begin operating under newly reorganized research departments, which are home to most of the Fermilab staff scientists. This reorganization is a continuation of a process that began with the reorganization of the PPD engineering departments, described by Peter Wilson in the Feb. 22, 2012 issue of Fermilab Today.

Scientific research at Fermilab is transitioning from a predominant emphasis on Energy Frontier experiments to a research program that includes a balance of experiments at all three frontiers: the Energy, Intensity and Cosmic Frontiers. The Intensity Frontier, in particular, is becoming the highest priority for experiments running at Fermilab.

To this end, we are dissolving the Experimental Physics Projects Department, which was led by David Christian. The department included PPD staff working on the Dark Energy Survey, Muon g-2, Mu2e, detector R&D and management of the Fermilab Test Beam Facility. EPP staff members will move to the Intensity Frontier Department and a new department that will include astrophysics experiments. We thank David Christian for his exceptional leadership of the EPP Department during the last eight years.

The former Neutrino Department will transition to a new, larger Intensity Frontier Department, which will be led by Steve Brice. The new department includes the following experiments (listed in chronological order of their start-up dates): MiniBooNE, MINOS, MINERvA, SeaQuest, NOvA, MicroBooNE, Muon g-2, Mu2e and LBNE. This merges neutrino experiments and muon experiments in one department, along with any future nuclear, kaon or other rare-process experiments.

We will conclude the reorganization during the coming year and announce further details in Fermilab Today.