Six scientists receive Intensity Frontier Fellowships

Fermilab, with the support of the Department of Energy, has created an Intensity Frontier Fellowship program for faculty and postdoctoral researchers. The aim of these fellowships is to maintain and strengthen the intellectual hub for Intensity Frontier research at Fermilab by supporting proposals for targeted, peer-reviewed research that is enabled by working onsite and complements, expands or initiates laboratory efforts. The response to the new fellowship program has been very strong: 33 proposals were submitted.

This summer, a peer-review committee comprising three Fermilab and four external scientists recommended to the Directorate awards for the first group of these Fellowships. The awards were given for either six months or one year.

The awardees for fall of 2013 are:

  • Flavio Cavanna—Yale Univerisity and University of L’Aquila, Italy
  • Edward Kearns—Boston University
  • Breese Quinn—University of Mississippi
  • Alexander Sousa—University of Cincinnati
  • Thomas Strauss—University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Patricia Vahle—College of William and Mary

New fellowships will be awarded in 2014. More information about the fellowship program is available online.