Fermilab scientists selected as APS fellows

Last month, five Fermilab scientists were named fellows of the American Physical Society, a distinction awarded each year to no more than one-half of 1 percent of current APS members by their peers.

Bogdan Dobrescu and Boaz Klima were named 2013 fellows to the Division of Particles and Fields. Nickolay Gnedin was named a fellow to the Division of Astrophysics. Shekhar Mishra and Eric Prebys were named fellows to the Forum on International Physics.

Bogdan Dobrescu
For original and influential extensions of the Standard Model involving extra dimensions and new gauge dynamics, and for leadership in bridging the gap between new theoretical ideas and experimental tests.

Nickolay Gnedin
For pioneering work in computational cosmology, which has led to a deep understanding of the Lyman alpha forest and reionization of the universe.

Boaz Klima
For significant contributions to hadron collider physics community and leadership, especially in the discovery of the top quark.

Shekhar Mishra
For exceptional achievement in the creation and stewardship of international collaborations in accelerator and particle physics, especially in the Indian-American Agreement for Cooperation in the Area of Accelerator and Particle Detector Research and Development for Discovery Science.

Eric Prebys
For his important contributions to the physics of beams and his exceptional efforts to shape the U.S.-CERN collaboration, enabling successful physics programs at the LHC and charting a course for U.S. involvement in future LHC upgrades.