Three Fermilab-affiliated researchers receive prestigious DOE awards

The Department of Energy has selected two Fermilab researchers and one user working on Fermilab experiments to receive the DOE Early Career Research Award, a prestigious financial award given to the most promising researchers in the early stages of their careers.

This year, 35 researchers were selected from a pool of about 750 university- and national laboratory-based applicants. Among the recipients were:

  • Eric Dahl, joint Fermilab-Northwestern University physicist: “A Scintillating Xenon Bubble Chamber for Dark Matter Detection”
  • Anna Grassellino, Fermilab physicist: “Impurity Doping of Niobium for Ultra-Efficient Superconducting RF Cavities”
  • James Hirschauer, Fermilab physicist: “Search for New Phenomena at the 13 TeV LHC: Fast Start and Strong Finish”

The five-year awards are “designed to bolster the nation’s scientific workforce by providing support to exceptional researchers during the crucial early years, when many scientists do their most formative work.”

The funding received through the awards will be used by recipients to carry out the research detailed in their respective proposals.

Profiles on these three individuals and their research will run in Fermilab Today in the next few weeks.