Senator Durbin receives Champion of Science Award

Researchers from Fermilab congratulated Senator Richard Durbin on his Champion of Science Award, presented by The Science Coalition on March 16 in Chicago. From left: Brian Nord, Charlie Cooper, Marcelle Soares-Santos, Jim Hirschauer, Farah Fahim, Alex Romanenko, Senator Richard Durbin, Tim Meyer, Anna Grassellino, Nhan Tran, Jen Raaf. Photo: Tracey Quinn, University of Chicago

On Monday, The Science Coalition honored Senator Richard Durbin with its Champion of Science Award in recognition of his strong commitment to funding the basic research that keeps the United States and the state of Illinois at the forefront of scientific discovery and technological innovation.

The award was presented to Senator Durbin at an event at 1871, a co-working center for digital startups in Chicago. Leaders from the five Science Coalition member universities in Illinois joined together to present the award.