Cherry A. Murray is new director of DOE Office of Science

Cherry Murray

Cherry Murray

On Dec. 10, Cherry A. Murray was confirmed by the United States Senate as the new director of the DOE Office of Science.

Murray received both her B.S. and Ph.D. in physics from MIT. She worked at Bell Labs from 1978-2004 and served as deputy director for science and technology at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory from 2004-09. She then went on to become dean of Harvard University’s School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, joining also as a professor physics and professor of engineering and applied sciences. She was president of the American Physical Society in 2009. She was elected to the National Academy of Sciences, American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering.

Murray has served on more than 80 national and international scientific advisory committees, governing boards and National Research Council panels.

In 2012 she received the National Medal of Technology and Innovation. She has served on the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board since 2013 and the Commission to Review the Effectiveness of the National Energy Laboratories since 2014.