Important new Visa Waiver Program restrictions

Editor’s note: This announcement was revised in November 2018 to provide an updated link to the U.S. visa waiver program webpage.

The US Department of Homeland Security and the Department of State have announced new restrictions on travel under the Visa Waiver Program (VWP). Those who are no longer authorized to use the VWP must obtain a visa for all future travel to the US. Those who are already in the US may remain until the end of their authorized admission period, but will be required to obtain a visa in the future.

The following traveler categories are no longer eligible to travel or be admitted to the United States under the VWP:

– Nationals of VWP countries who have traveled to or been present in Iran, Iraq, Sudan, or Syria on or after March 1, 2011 (with limited exceptions for travel for diplomatic or military purposes in the service of a VWP country);

– Nationals of VWP countries who are also nationals of Iran, Iraq, Sudan, or Syria.

Additional, in-depth information is available on the DOS website, at Please contact the Visa Office with any questions and/or concerns.