Technology Committee launches

To maintain its leadership in high-energy physics, Fermilab needs to continue developing new experiments designed to explore physics beyond limits achievable today. Such experiments will rely on new enabling technologies, including ultrasensitive detectors, powerful accelerators and new quantum sensors. To advise the lab director on core technology competencies that Fermilab needs for a healthy future, a new standing Technology Committee, chaired by Fermilab Chief Technology Officer Sergey Belomestnykh, was recently created.

The committee is charged with identifying key technology directions for investment and hiring, developing new potential partners outside the lab, facilitating the exchange of ideas and expertise among different areas of Fermilab, and encouraging technology transfer. Within the first nine months, the committee is expected to produce a Fermilab Technology Strategy document.

Front row, from left: Juan Estrada, Jonathan Jarvis, Charles Thangaraj, Sergey Belomestnykh (chair), Gabriel Perdue, William Wester, Christopher Hill. Back row, from left: Petra Merkel, Patrick Hurh, Alan Bross, Anna Grassellino. Not pictured: Swapan Chattopadhyay, Grzegorz Deptuch, Angela Fava, Adam Para. Photo credit: Kim Mazur