New leadership for 2019 Physics Advisory Committee

Hiro Tanaka, Anadi Canepa

In January 2019, Caltech’s Maria Spiropulu, current chair of the Fermilab Physics Advisory Committee (PAC), will begin a transition to hand over role as chair to SLAC scientist Hiro Tanaka. Tanaka and Spiropulu will co-chair the January PAC meeting, and then Tanaka will take over as chair in summer 2019.

In addition, Fermilab scientist Anadi Canepa has assumed a new role as PAC secretary, succeeding Steve Geer. She will serve a three-year term.

The Fermilab PAC is one of the intellectual engines behind the laboratory’s scientific program. Composed of distinguished scientists from the international particle physics community, the committee advises the director on the lab’s experimental program by reviewing proposals for new experiments and giving the director advice in planning the laboratory’s slate of programs and projects.

Congratulations to Tanaka and Canepa on their new roles.