Announcing the 2018-19 Users Executive Committee: Come meet us on Jan. 18!

Will the orange t-shirts be making a reappearance? Photo: Reidar Hahn

Will the orange t-shirts be making a reappearance? Photo: Reidar Hahn

Happy new year!

With 2019 comes new faces on the Fermilab Users Executive Committee.

In September, after the Fermilab user community cast their ballots, we welcomed six new members to the 12-person committee to serve the 2018-2020 term:

Saptaparna Bhattacharya (Northwestern University)
Kirsty Duffy (Fermilab)
Oliver Gutsche (Fermilab)
Cindy Joe (Fermilab)
David Martinez Caicedo (South Dakota School of Mines and Technology)
Gregory Snow (University of Nebraska)

They join our continuing members: Leo Aliaga, Gavin Davies (me), Sarah Demers, Jiyeon Han, Brian Nord and Fernanda Psihas.

As a bonus, we invite you to come meet the committee, and our friends from the Fermilab Student and Postdoc Association at a UEC meet-and-greet social event co-hosted by UEC and FSPA. The event takes place on Friday, Jan. 18, 3-5 p.m. in the Fermilab Art Gallery on the second floor of Wilson Hall.

Come say hello, learn about the UEC and our plans, enjoy some snacks, and get a chance to win prizes.

Please note that there is a scheduled Joint Experimental-Theoretical Physics (Wine and Cheese) Seminar at 4 p.m. You are encouraged to attend that if you are interested.

The UEC would also like to take this opportunity to thank the six outgoing UEC members: Frank Chlebana, Sowjanya Gollapinni (UEC chairperson 2017-2018), Carrie McGivern, Thomas Strauss, Tammy Walton and Joseph Zennamo. If you happen to see them, give them a thanks for their productive and tireless two years of serving the user community.

Hope to see many of you on Friday!

Gavin S. Davies is the Users Executive Committee chairperson.