The LHC Physics Center at Fermilab announces CMS-LPC Distinguished Researchers for 2020

The Distinguished Researcher program has been an important feature of the LPC at Fermilab for the past nine years. The 17 CMS physicists selected in a competitive process as LPC Distinguished Researchers for 2020, 14 juniors and three seniors, are accomplished individuals at various stages of their careers. The program provides resources to help strengthen their research programs while contributing to research activities at the LPC. Funding for the program comes from the CMS Center at Fermilab and the U.S. Department of Energy.

The LPC distinguished researchers play crucial roles in CMS. They lead CMS physics and upgrade efforts, generate new ideas in physics and technology developments, and create critical mass in these efforts. In addition, they provide education and training for younger generation of CMS physicists, which is very important considering the complexity of the CMS detector, sophisticated event reconstruction and advanced data analysis techniques. Just to highlight some areas of their involvement, last year’s Distinguished Researchers facilitated completion of the Phase-1 upgrade of the CMS detector by playing key roles in efforts at Fermilab on advanced Phase-2 tracker, endcap calorimeter, MIP timing detector, Level-1 trigger upgrades, and in CMS reconstruction and computing. They actively engaged in searches for beyond-the-Standard-Model physics at the LPC such as for dark matter, Higgs boson studies using rare decay modes and measurements of extremely rare Standard Model processes. This year’s Distinguished Researchers will continue to engage in these efforts and initiate new efforts at the LPC.

The bios of the distinguished researchers, shown below, are available at the LPC website.

Members of the LPC Management Board selected these Distinguished Researchers.

Cecilia Gerber (University of Illinois at Chicago) and Sergo Jindariani (Fermilab) are co-coordinators of the Fermilab LPC.

CMS Department communications are coordinated by Fermilab scientist Pushpa Bhat.