Introducing the 2019-20 Fermilab Scientist Advisory Council

The Fermilab Scientist Advisory Council recently welcomed new members. As its newly elected co-chairs, we are honored to lead this esteemed group, which was founded in 2013 and has representation from across Fermilab’s scientific staff. It meets regularly with the Directorate and discusses topics of interest in both short- and long-term plans for the laboratory’s research program as well as issues related to careers and professional development of the scientific staff.

The SAC communicates its work to the wider scientific staff at quarterly meetings. If you have an issue or item you would like to have discussed by the SAC, please contact your council representative or the chairs with the details.

Members of the 2019-20 SAC are:
Robert Ainsworth, AD
Karie Badgley, APS-TD
Daniel Elvira, SCD
Zoltan Gesce, PPD
Stefan Hoche, PPD
Jeremiah Holzbauer, PIP-II
Bo Jayatilaka (co-chair), SCD
Brendan Kiburg (co-chair), PPD
Gordan Krnjaic, PPD
Petra Merkel, PPD
Anne Schukraft, ND
Andrew Sonnenschein, PPD
Tiziana Spina, APS-TD
Diktys Stratakis, AD
Louise Suter (past-chair), ND
Matt Toups, ND

 Bo Jayatilaka is a Fermilab scientist on the CMS experiment. Brendan Kiburg is a Fermilab scientist on the Muon g-2 experiment.

The 2019-20 Scientific Advisory Council members are, front row, from left: Tiziana Spina, Nigel Lockyer, Diktys Stratakis, Karie Badgley. Middle row: Matt Toups, Robert Ainsworth, Brendan Kiburg, Jeremiah Holzbauer, Greg Bock. Back row: Bo Jayatilaka, Andrew Sonnenschein, Luciano Ristori, Anne Schukraft. Not pictured: Daniel Elvira, Zoltan Gesce, Stefan Hoche, Gordan Krnjaic, Petra Merkel, Louise Suter. Photo: Lynn Johnson, Fermilab