Fifty-third annual Users (Virtual) Meeting: Aug. 10-13

Fermilab and the Users Executive Committee cordially invite you to join us for the 53rd Annual Users (Virtual) Meeting, which will take place Aug. 10-13 on Zoom.

Recent events have made this an uncertain and troubling year for many, which is why we think it is important to come together as a community, albeit slightly later in the year and in a different format to past Users Meetings.

The meeting will be spread over four half-days and we hope to be able to use much of the infrastructure put in place for the very successful Neutrino 2020 conference, which Fermilab recently hosted. The meeting will highlight leading-edge science and celebrate Fermilab’s achievements, as well as looking toward the future as a community, with this year’s theme: “Defining the Decade.”

The theme will be realized in a more literal sense through a Snowmass panel to discuss planning the future of high energy physics; but as we look to the next 10 years, we also want this meeting to serve as a platform to continue the important conversations on equity, diversity and inclusion in our community. The deep racial inequalities the global pandemic highlighted in our society and the recent protests in support of Black Lives Matter remind us that we must do more to combat systemic racism in particle physics and STEM fields and in our own community.

We would also like to build on the work of last year’s Users Meeting in recognizing the efforts of all community members that contribute to Fermilab’s scientific and technological success. Our aim is for ALL members of the Fermilab community, including both scientific and non-scientific staff, contractors, interns, and anyone else who lives or works at Fermilab to feel welcome and included. Your contributions are important and your presence and viewpoint matters to us.

On Wednesday, Aug. 12, a special memorial session, “Alvin Tollestrup: A Life in Science,” will take place to commemorate the award-winning engineer and visionary scientist Alvin Tollestrup (1924-2020), who played an instrumental role in developing the Tevatron as the world’s leading high-energy physics accelerator at Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and was a founding co-spokesperson of the CDF collaboration.

The meeting will include a virtual poster session using the very successful Mozilla Hubs platform built for Neutrino 2020. We will open poster abstract submission on July 14 and accept poster abstracts up to August 1, 2020 ( New for this year, we would like to encourage submissions from non-scientific employees and users as well.

We will send out further details nearer the time on how you can interact with the meeting and each other, but for now, please help us plan by registering for the Users (Virtual) Meeting. There is no fee for registration.

Please note, the New Perspectives conference organized by the Fermilab Student and Postdoc Association that normally precedes the Users Meeting will be held separately this year on July 20 and 21.

We look forward to seeing you (virtually) and celebrating the achievements of the Fermilab community.

Saptaparna Bhattacharya is the UEC chair. Cindy Joe is the Users Meeting chair.

Ashley Back, Reddy Pratap Gandrajula, David Martinez Caicedo, Manolis Kargiantoulakis, Yuanyuan Zhang, Kirsty Duffy, Oliver Gutsche, Isobel R. Ojalvo, Jonathan Asaadi, Ketino Kaadze, Maria Martinez Casales, Luke Pickering, Samantha Sword-Fehlberg, Griselda Lopez, Anna Campbell, Etta Johnson, Connie Hillgard, Monica Vallejo, Elizabeth Mendyk.