Announcing the 2020-22 Users Executive Committee: Come meet us (virtually) on Jan. 22

In November, we welcomed six new members to the Fermilab Users Executive Committee. Please join us in welcoming the 2020-22 UEC:

Ashley Back, chair (Indiana University)
Sophie Middleton (California Institute of Technology)
Monica Nunes (Syracuse University)
Alexx Perloff (University of Colorado Boulder)
Aleena Rafique (Argonne National Laboratory)
Nadja Strobbe (University of Minnesota)

We join our continuing UEC members: Jonathan Asaadi (University of Texas Arlington), Ketino Kaadze (Kansas State University), Manolis Kargiantoulakis (Fermilab), Isobel Ojalvo (Princeton University), Reddy Pratap Gandrajula (University of Virginia) and Yuanyuan Zhang (Fermilab).

The Fermilab Users Executive Committee meet in December. From top left: Ashley Back, Nadja Strobbe, Alexx Perloff, Aleena Rafique, Yuanyuan Zhang, Ketino Kaadze, Monica Nunes, Reddy Pratap Gandrajula, Sophie Middleton and Jonathan Asaadi, and FSPA officer Anna Hall. Not pictured: Manolis Kargiantoulakis and Isobel Ojalvo.

We would like to invite all members of the Fermilab community to meet us virtually at the first ever virtual UEC Meet & Greet social event co-hosted by the UEC and the Fermilab Student and Postdoc Association (FSPA). This will take place on Friday, Jan. 22, from 3-5 p.m. We will host it on Zoom with separate breakout rooms for each UEC subcommittee. Meeting information, including Zoom coordinates, are available on Fermipoint (Services login required).

Please take this opportunity to come and chat with members of the UEC and FSPA to learn about what we do. We are very interested in your thoughts and suggestions, so there will be opportunities to provide feedback. We also plan to host a raffle with the chance to win exciting prizes!

We at the UEC would like to take this opportunity to thank the five outgoing members for their service to the Fermilab community: Saptaparna Bhattacharya (UEC chair, 2019-20), Kirsty Duffy, Oliver Gutsche, Cindy Joe and David Martinez Caicedo.

The past year has been tough for many people in our community, and many of you may be experiencing anxiety, isolation and other feelings. We want you to know that we are here for you and will do our best to help the community in any way we can. Hopefully, our virtual Meet & Greet will be fairly relaxed, and the raffle may even provide some light-hearted entertainment!

We hope to see you (virtually) on Jan. 22! Stay safe.

Ashley Back is chair of the Fermilab Users Executive Committee for the 2020-21 term.