Introducing the 2021-22 Fermilab Scientist Advisory Council

Members of the 2021-22 SAC

The Fermilab Scientist Advisory Council recently welcomed eight new members for the 2021-22 term. As the newly elected co-chairs (Douglas Berry and Jim Annis), we are honored to act as chairs for the SAC, which was founded in 2013 and includes representation from across Fermilab’s scientific staff. We meet regularly with the Directorate and discuss topics of interest affecting both the short- and long-term plans of the laboratory’s research program as well as issues related to the career and professional development of the scientific staff.

The SAC communicates its work to the wider scientific staff at quarterly meetings. If you have an issue or item you would like to have discussed by the SAC, please contact your council representative or chairs with the details.

This year’s topics include the Snowmass Process at the laboratory.

Members of the 2021-22 SAC are:

Jim Annis, SCD (co-chair)
Maria Baldini, APS-TD
Doug Berry, PPD (co-chair)
Minerba Betancourt, ND
Flor De Maria Blaszczyk, ND
Mattia Checchin, APS-TD
Alex Drlica-Wagner, PPD
Frank Chlebana, PPD (past chair)
Jeff Eldred, AD
Mandy Kiburg, PPD
Patty McBride, PPD
Frederique Pellemoine, AD
Noemi Rocco, Theory
Peter Shanahan, ND
Alexander Sukhanov, APS-TD
Tammy Walton, SCD