Three Fermilab users receive 2022 URA Awards for their research

Together with Fermilab, the Universities Research Association, a consortium of more than 90 leading research-oriented universities, issues three awards to recognize early-career scientists for their outstanding research. The awards are handed out annually at the lab’s Users Meeting. This year’s meeting takes place June 13-16, and on Wednesday, June 15, URA presented the awards.

“It’s always a great honor for URA to be able to recognize the superb scientific talent that Fermilab nurtures,” said URA President John Mester. “The three awardees this year are great representatives of the amazing legacy of scientific expertise at Fermilab.”

The URA Outstanding Doctoral Thesis award is granted for work conducted at Fermilab or in collaboration with Fermilab scientists. Each thesis is judged on clarity of presentation, originality and physics content. The 2022 URA Thesis Award recipient is Maria Vincenzi, Duke University.

The URA Early Career Award highlights outstanding work conducted by an early career researcher at Fermilab or benefiting the Fermilab scientific program. This year’s award winner is Elisabeth Krause, University of Arizona.

The Tollestrup Award for Postdoctoral Research recognizes outstanding work conducted by a postdoctoral researcher at Fermilab or in collaboration with Fermilab scientists that directly benefits a Fermilab experiment or accelerator project or is performed in conjunction with Fermilab staff. Alexandra Amon, Stanford University, is this year’s recipient of the Tollestrup Award.

Look for detailed profiles of the 2022 URA award recipients and their work in the coming weeks.