Fermilab and the Universities Research Association invite submissions for the 21st annual URA Thesis Award competition. Nominations must be submitted to Lenny Spiegel at by March 16, 2018 and should include two letters supporting the merits of the thesis being nominated. At least one letter should be from a member of the thesis committee of the PhD granting institution and, for work carried out in collaboration with Fermilab scientists, at least one of the letters should come from one of those…

A winning map

The Fundamental Physics Prize recognizes WMAP’s contributions to precision cosmology.

Biedron’s research with her graduate students collaborating with Fermilab has encompassed facets of high-power electron sources, intelligent controls for particle accelerators, low-level radio-frequency control and modeling of the so-called “magnetic horns.”