The FRA Scholarship deadline is quickly approaching. Online applications will be accepted through the ISTS portal through March 29, 2020. More information on the FRA Scholarship can be found at:

Fermilab and the Universities Research Association invite submissions for the annual URA Thesis Award competition. Nominations must be submitted to Chris Stoughton (  by Friday, March 20, and should include two letters supporting the merits of the thesis being nominated. At least one letter should be from a member of the thesis committee of the PhD granting institution and, for work carried out in collaboration with Fermilab scientists, at least one of the letters should come from one of those…

Please join us for a brief ceremony celebrating innovation at Fermilab and honoring more than 40 individuals who received patents or filed Records of Invention during 2019. The awards ceremony will be followed by a special lecture entitled, “Speaking While Thinking: Reflecting on a Few Lessons Learned as a Woman Among Scientists (and Doctors and Bankers),” by Michelle Hoffmann, Senior Vice President, Life Sciences, P33 Chicago. The event will be held at the IARC Building Lecture Hall from 10 a.m….

DESCRIPTION Universities Research Association, Inc. (URA) makes an award for outstanding work conducted by an early career researcher at Fermilab or benefiting the Fermilab scientific program. The award is presented during the annual Users Meeting held at Fermilab in June. ELIGIBILITY All Ph.D. researchers at Fermilab or URA member institutions, who are within six years of their initial appointment to a tenure-track or a Fermilab tenure-track equivalent position* as of the nomination deadline are eligible. Career breaks and time spent…

Wilson Hall 2nd Fl Art Gallery, Friday, Jan. 24, at 2:00 p.m. Please join Fermilab scientists and a delegate from JB Nelson Elementary to announce the winner of the JB Nelson Reverse Science Fair. Fermilab scientists presented their “science projects” and the students were the judges. Come and see who will take home the trophy!

The Universities Research Association announces an opportunity for the spring 2020 award cycle under its Visiting Scholars Program. Proposals for this cycle are due Monday, Feb. 24, and awards are anticipated to be announced at the end of March. Individual proposals may be submitted by researchers who are faculty, postdocs or graduate students at URA member universities. Researchers are defined as graduate students, postdocs or faculty doing research in areas such as high-energy physics experiments, astrophysics, theory, accelerator physics, engineering,…

The Institute of Electric and Electronic Engineers names Fermilab scientist Vladimir Shiltsev an IEEE fellow. The honor is conferred by the IEEE Board of Directors upon a person with an outstanding record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest.

The American Physical Society Division of Particles and Fields has given its 2019 Early Career Instrumentation Award to two scientists on the international Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment, hosted by Fermilab. Ana Amelia Machado and Ettore Segreto, both of the University of Campinas in Brazil, are recognized for inventing and developing a photon sensor that is currently a baseline technology for the DUNE particle detector.

From AAAS, Nov. 26, 2019: Fermilab scientist Vladimir Shiltsev has been elected a AAAS fellow. Fellows are elected each year by their peers serving on the Council of AAAS, the organization’s member-run governing body. The 2019 group will receive official certificates and rosette pins in gold and blue, colors symbolizing science and engineering, in a ceremony on Feb. 15, 2020, during the AAAS Annual Meeting in Seattle.