Two students awarded DOE Graduate Student Research fellowships

Two students have received the prestigious Department of Energy Office of Science Graduate Student Research fellowships to conduct their research at Fermilab. DOE awarded these fellowships to 49 students from U.S. universities. The Fermilab recipients are:

Ryan Howell

Ryan Howell, University of Rochester
Experimental neutrino physics
Mentor: Minerba Betancourt

Douglas Tuckler

Douglas Tuckler, University of California, Santa Cruz
Physics beyond the Standard Model
Mentor: Gordan Krnjaic

The goal of the SCGSR program is to prepare U.S. graduate students for STEM careers critically important to the DOE Office of Science mission by providing graduate thesis research opportunities at DOE laboratory.

The program plays an important role in sustaining a pipeline for highly skilled scientific and technological workforce development: The research projects proposed by the new awardees demonstrate strong alignment with the priority mission areas of the DOE Office of Science that have a high need for workforce development.

SCGSR fellows conduct part of their graduate thesis research at a DOE laboratory or facility in collaboration with a DOE laboratory scientist. Their research projects are expected to advance their overall doctoral theses while providing access to the expertise, resources and capabilities available at DOE laboratories.

The fellowship provides supplemental awards for graduate students to spend three to 12 consecutive months at the laboratory.