Vladimir Shiltsev selected IEEE fellow

Vladimir Shiltsev stands near the first Tevatron electron lens, which was installed in the Tevatron tunnel in 2001. Photo: Giulio Stancari

The Institute of Electric and Electronic Engineers has named Fermilab scientist Vladimir Shiltsev as an IEEE fellow.

Shiltsev, a Distinguished Scientist at Fermilab, is named a fellow for the development of electron lenses and contributions to accelerator technology and beam physics.

The IEEE grade of fellow is conferred by the IEEE Board of Directors upon a person with an outstanding record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest. The total number selected in any one year cannot exceed one-10th of one percent of the total voting membership. IEEE fellow is the highest grade of membership and is recognized by the technical community as a prestigious honor and an important career achievement.

In 1997 Shiltsev proposed and initiated the construction of the Tevatron electron lenses — novel tools for performance improvements in supercolliders — two of which were installed and become operational, the first in 2001 and the second in 2004. Electron lenses have been in active technological and scientific development at Fermilab and elsewhere, and since their installation in the Tevatron, they have been successfully employed in the Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider at Brookhaven National Laboratory. They are planned for construction and installation in Fermilab’s Integrable Optics Test Accelerator ring and in CERN’s Large Hadron Collider as part of its luminosity upgrade project.

Shiltsev joined Fermilab in 1996 as a Wilson fellow. He was head of the Fermilab Tevatron Department from 2001-06 and director of the Fermilab Accelerator Physics Center from 2007-18. He is a fellow of the the American Physical Society and recipient of the 2004 Accelerator Prize from the European Physical Society, the 2015 APS Robert H. Siemann Award, the 2016 George Gamow Award, the 2018 APS Outstanding Referee Award and the 2019 International Accelerator Nishikawa Prize. Shiltsev was named a AAAS fellow in 2019.

Fermilab is a DOE national laboratory funded by the Office of Science.