Fermilab Lederman Fellow recognized with dissertation award

Lederman Fellow Cristina Mantilla Suarez. Photo: Cristina Mantilla Suarez

Cristina Mantilla Suarez, a Lederman Fellow at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, received the American Physical Society’s 2021 Mitsuyoshi Tanaka Dissertation Award in Experimental Particle Physics. The APS recognized Suarez for her doctoral thesis, “Probing New Physics Using Initial State Radiation Jets at the Large Hadron Collider.”

Suarez completed her undergraduate degree in physics at the National Polytechnic School in Quito, Ecuador, in 2016. As a graduate student, she conducted research at Fermilab, participating in the Universities Research Association Visiting Scholars program in 2017 and the LHC Physics Center Graduate Scholars program in 2019. Suarez received her doctorate from Johns Hopkins University under the supervision of Petar Maksimovic.

Currently a Lederman Fellow at Fermilab, Suarez focuses her research on measuring the properties and couplings of the Higgs boson at the CMS experiment at CERN, as well as expanding the search for particle dark matter to lower masses and lower couplings with the accelerator experiments LDMX and DarkQuest.

Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory is supported by the Office of Science of the U.S. Department of Energy. The Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, please visit science.energy.gov.