Three Fermilab scientists receive DOE Early Career Research Awards

The Department of Energy has selected three Fermilab scientists to receive the 2018 DOE Early Career Research Award, a prestigious award designed to bolster the nation’s scientific workforce by providing support to exceptional researchers during the crucial early years, when many scientists do their most formative work.

This year, 84 scientists from across the nation have been selected to receive funding as part of DOE’s 2018 Early Career Research Program – including 30 from DOE’s national laboratories and 54 from U.S. universities. The program, now in its ninth year, supports the development of individual research programs of outstanding scientists early in their careers and stimulates research careers in the disciplines supported by the DOE Office of Science.

Profiles on these three individuals and their research will published over the next few weeks.

The Fermilab recipients are:
Artur Apresyan, for exploring the lifetime frontier with new detectors and new searches.
Daniel Bowring, for microwave single-photon sensors for dark matter searches and precision neutrino measurements.
Javier Tiffenberg, for table-top neutrino detectors for 10-kilogram skipper-CCD experiments.

Fermilab congratulates the awardees.

Artur Apresyan

Daniel Bowring

Javier Tiffenberg