Four December 2018 DOE Graduate Student Research fellowships

In December 2018, four students received the prestigious Department of Energy Office of Science Graduate Student Research fellowships to conduct their research at Fermilab. In December, DOE awarded these fellowships to 47 students from U.S. universities. The December Fermilab recipients are:

Joshua Barrow, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Beyond-the-Standard-Model searches, neutrino physics at DUNE
Mentor: Minerba Betancourt, Steven Gardiner

Connor Burgad, Ohio University
Galaxy cluster cosmology, large-scale survey science
Mentor: Jim Annis

Chris Kovacs, Ohio State University
Accelerator science and technology
Mentor: Emanuela Barzi

Caleb Smith, Baylor University
CMS, supersymmetry, detector technology
Mentor: Jim Hirschauer

Joshua Barrow

Connor Burgad

Chris Kovacs

Caleb Smith

The goal of the SCGSR program is to prepare U.S. graduate students for STEM careers critically important to the DOE Office of Science mission by providing graduate thesis research opportunities at DOE laboratory.

The program plays an important role in sustaining a pipeline for highly skilled scientific and technological workforce development: The research projects proposed by the new awardees demonstrate strong alignment with the priority mission areas of DOE Office of Science that have a high need for workforce development.

SCGSR fellows conduct part of their graduate thesis research at a DOE laboratory or facility in collaboration with a DOE laboratory scientist. Their research projects are expected to advance their overall doctoral theses while providing access to the expertise, resources and capabilities available at DOE laboratories.

The fellowship provides supplemental awards for graduate students to spend three to 12 consecutive months at the laboratory.