Three Fermilab scientists receive DOE Early Career Research Awards

The Department of Energy’s Office of Science has selected three Fermilab scientists to receive the 2019 DOE Early Career Research Award, a prestigious award designed to bolster the nation’s scientific workforce by providing support to exceptional researchers during the crucial early years, when many scientists do their most formative work. The effort is now in its 10th year.

This year, 73 scientists from across the nation – including 27 from DOE’s national laboratories and 46 from U.S. universities – have been selected to receive funding as part of DOE’s Early Career Research Program.

“Supporting our nation’s most talented and creative researchers in their early career years is crucial to building America’s scientific workforce and sustaining America’s culture of innovation,” said Secretary of Energy Rick Perry. “We congratulate these young researchers on their significant accomplishments to date and look forward to their achievements in the years ahead.”

Profiles on these three individuals and their research will be published over the next few weeks. The Fermilab recipients are:

Pedro Machado, for the next revolution in neutrino physics

Nhan Tran, for deep-learning acceleration of the boosted Higgs program and HEP computing

Xingchen Xu, for the development of next-generation niobium-tin superconductors for energy frontier circular colliders

Pedro Machado

Nhan Tran

Xingchen Xu