edited by Leah Hesla

Leah Hesla is a science writer at Argonne National Laboratory and former senior writer in the Fermilab Office of Communication.

The Humboldt Foundation invites awardees to undertake prolonged periods of research in collaboration with scientists in Germany and to promote scientific cooperation between research institutions in both Germany and their home country. During his upcoming visit, Eichten intends to continue to study the systematics of systems involving heavy quarks.

Fermilab scientist Pushpa Bhat was recently elected to the Council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world’s largest scientific society, as a representative for the Section on Physics. Her three-year term begins on Feb. 18. The AAAS Council establishes general policies for the association and reviews all of its programs.

Butler was one of 416 AAAS members nominated this year as fellows by their peers. He was recognized for distinguished contributions to the field of experimental particle physics, particularly for pioneering experiments in heavy flavor physics, and the leadership of large international experimental collaborations. New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 16, 2019, during the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.