For the past 26 years, the Universities Research Association Inc. has honored the remarkable research performed in fulfillment of the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory mission. Open 2023 Nominations URA and Fermilab invite nominations to recognize the outstanding work of physicists and engineers, conducted at Fermilab or under a Fermilab collaboration. Staff and researchers at Fermilab and URA member institutions are eligible. Award recipients receive a certificate of recognition and a check for $10,000 from URA. The nomination deadline is Friday,…

From the Universities Research Association, October 31, 2022: Brynn MacCoy is a physics doctoral candidate at the University of Washington and the Fall 2019 URA Visiting Scholar Program (VSP) Awardee. With an extension of URA assistance, MacCoy returned to Fermilab earlier this year allowing her to install the Minimally Intrusive Scintillating Fiber Detector.

From URA.org (University Research Association), June 30, 2022: Matthew Portman’s research on the Dark Energy Spectroscopic Instrument was accepted by the URA’s Visiting Scholars Program Review Panel and was awarded funding to work at Fermilab where he worked with Dr. Antonella Palmese, a former Visiting Scholar herself. Portman’s curiosity for gravitational waves and coding knowledge allowed him to merge both physics and computer science while at Fermilab.

The Universities Research Association announces an opportunity through its Visiting Scholars Program for the spring 2022 award cycle. Proposals are now being accepted online. Supported by contributions from URA member universities, the URA Visiting Scholars Award Program provides financial support for faculty and students to work at Fermilab for periods of up to one year. Proposals for the next cycle are due Monday, Feb. 28. Awards are expected to be announced at the end of March. Individual proposals may be…

Scientist and 2021 URA Early Career Award winner stands at a chalkboard working on equations.

Fermilab’s Pedro Machado has won the 2021 Universities Research Association Early Career Award for his theoretical work on neutrino science that helps experimentalists with novel search strategies and scientific questions worth exploring.

The annual Universities Research Association Thesis Award recognizes outstanding work for a thesis conducted at or in collaboration with Fermilab. Zhang’s winning Ph.D. dissertation included insights into both physics searches and equipment upgrades at the Large Hadron Collider’s CMS detector. Fermilab serves as the U.S. hub for CMS.